Replies in this thread : 99
Page : 1 2 3 4 5
<< prev page next page >>

Author Topic : Promoting activeness instead of passiveness
 Boksu
Basic User

System.__ComObject
6/15/2013 11:21:40 AM reply with quote send message to Boksu Object to Post   

I have been playing showdog for almost 10 years now. When I started the game, it was full of life, there were shows with 2000 entries every day. Almost everyone was showing and showing was THE way of making money. My best dogs earned tens of thousands of dollars during their show careers.
But then the world changed and showdog lost a lot of players. Nowdays even the biggest show of the day won't get 1000 entries, and the others are even smaller.

www.showdog.com/users/dog_info.aspx?id=12271830
Just to bring up an example of what I'm talking about, I bring up this dog. She has 2 show placements, multiple group placements, 19 BIBs. Back in the old days, this would have been a dog that you show until her retirement, simply to make money. With today's entries, she has made $97 during her career. That is approximately $4 per show. So she hasn't even broken even, I have lost money just in her show entries, not to talk about the sessioning cost.
She isn't even the best of her breed. There are much better mini poodles around. Due to the lack of competition, it simply isn't worth showing any of them.

In my other kennel, my finnish spitzes are constantly competing with eachother. Unless I have the dogs to put in the competition, there is very few majors around.