Search

.com Forum · Real Show Dogs

Replies in this thread : 8

Author Topic : Advice for adding a 2nd dog to the family? :)
 Dalkeith
Basic User

System.__ComObject
10/7/2014 5:28:57 PM reply with quote send message to Dalkeith Object to Post   

For those who don't know me I've been playing SD for nearly 8 years (mainly from my Rijbakluva and Dalkeith kennels).

I currently share my life with a gorgeous 13 month old Rhodesian Ridgeback, Tonks. I researched the breed for 8 years before getting my first RR happy :)

I have been thinking of getting him a brother recently and I just got word from his breeder that they have done a repeat mating with Tonks' parents and the litter will be born late November and will be 8 weeks in late January 2015.

All my life I have only ever had 1 dog at a time (growing up at my parents place). So it's a relatively new experience for me (although my housemates do have a Heeler so I'm used to having 2 dogs in the house, just never owned 2 dogs at the same time myself).

Tonks is crate trained and sleeps in there every night which he has done since 8 weeks old and loves his big bed. He is also used to sharing his crate with other dogs during the day as he seems to seek out my housemates dog to sleep with during the day if there isn't anything else interesting to do.

I'll be purchasing a second crate for the new pup to sleep in. I will also be walking the two dogs separately for the first few months to allow me to train the new pup in leash etiquette and manners.

I'm aware that I'll need to ensure that Tonks still gets his 'alone' time with me so he doesn't feel 'put out' by the attention the new pup is getting. I also know that I'll need to get both dogs used to having some 'quiet' time on their own so they don't get too attached (which I fear will lead to separation anxiety).