Search

.com Forum · Real Show Dogs

Replies in this thread : 5

Author Topic : Obedience
 country k9 dog kennel
Premium Member

System.__ComObject
3/1/2015 12:02:30 AM reply with quote send message to country k9 dog kennel Object to Post   

I need some help with my dog. I was hoping you guys could give me some tips.
I've been training stays out of sight for a couple years now and my dog wont stay,when I leave he gets up and sniffs around he even tried to leave the ring once. If anyone could give me any tips on how to fix this or train him for this better I would really appreciate it.
Thanks!
 Super Uber Kennels
Basic User

Basic User
3/1/2015 1:57:40 AM reply with quote send message to Super Uber Kennels Object to Post

this post has been edited 1 time(s)

Are you taking classes and practicing group stays in class? If so, maybe you could have the instructor or someone who is watching the dog, correct your dog while your out of sight i.e. put him back in a sit and tell him to "STAY!" Or maybe you could periodically come back to him during that 3 minute sit and reward him for continuing to stay and then go back out of sight. You could also make it easier for him temporarily and not go out of sight for a 3 min sit/5min stay, practicing this in several different locations until he's solid on the

What kind of dog do you have? Are there any fun matches you could attend to practice sit/stays? Sometimes the person acting as the "judge" for the sit/stays will ask everyone ahead of time if you want them to correct your dog (if he gets up) while you are out of sight.

Finally, if you are on Facebook, I'd recommend joining the closed group "Competition Dog Obedience"... https://www.facebook.com/groups/5762103470/ There are a lot of very friendly folks there more than willing to help and offer suggestions. I'm relatively new to obedience (i.e. have only trained one dog for competitive obedience thru CDX so far...) and have found this website very helpful! happy :)