Search

.com Forum · Alpha Dog Forum

Replies in this thread : 10

Author Topic : How did this happen?
 Flush
Basic User

System.__ComObject
11/14/2016 4:40:49 AM reply with quote send message to Flush Object to Post   

I'm new to showing and have been checking all results in all breeds to try and get a handle on why judges do what!
But I can't understand the results at the show Mostly Autumn3 judges by A. Lara.
No offence to any owner but how did this dog win the group and get BIS (SOP 93.50) when the dog it beat in the group (SOP 98.30) had the same top handler and appears way better?
 Grasslans
Premium Member

Premium Member
11/14/2016 6:55:04 AM reply with quote send message to Grasslans Object to Post

The answer quite simply is that it's the judge's choice at the end of the show wink ;)
A dog's SOP is not always the be all and end all when it comes to showing. Some judges rather certain breeds, just as some rather certain traits.

Take for example (using my own kennel dogs.) I have a Husky boy who has never done that well in the show ring, couldn't win a BOB to save his life 99% of the time, yet when I showed him under a certain judge twice, he won BIS both times and then went back to his casually useless showing style.

The dog that won the show that you are talking about, has also won 12 other best in shows, so he is a rather special dog in his own right. Showing takes a little bit to get your head around happy :)
 Flush
Basic User

Basic User
11/14/2016 8:27:37 AM reply with quote send message to Flush Object to Post

Thanks, seeing those results, it's now going to be even harder to FH, eek happy :)
 rhondacline
Basic User

Basic User
11/14/2016 8:47:32 AM reply with quote send message to rhondacline Object to Post

The thing that I would add is this -

Watch which judges give your breed group placements. Those are the judges that you want to show under.