Search

.com Forum · Alpha Dog Forum

Replies in this thread : 6

Author Topic : Source Breeding Tips?
 Windsong Hills
Basic User

System.__ComObject
2/7/2020 1:56:07 PM reply with quote send message to Windsong Hills Object to Post   

Hello!

I am looking at trying to bring back American Eskimo Dogs from source (amongst other goals). However, it’s been a bit since I’ve been here. Out of curiosity, does anyone know the difference between the source quality? How does that work? Any tips on breeding from source?

Thanks!
Windy
 Caulfeilds Kennels
Premium Member

Premium Member
2/7/2020 3:49:57 PM reply with quote send message to Caulfeilds Kennels Object to Post

Hi,

I have been breeding True source dogs since 2006.
They are getting better but not show quality yet.

This is not a task for the faint of heart. It takes time and dedication.

Some people cheat ( I am a purist) and cross breed with higher SOP dogs. You can do it that way too.
You should get a show dog faster.

You can message me if you have more questions or just reply here.

Carol
 Caulfeilds Kennels
Premium Member

Premium Member
2/7/2020 3:51:57 PM reply with quote send message to Caulfeilds Kennels Object to Post

this post has been edited 1 time(s)

There is also a Source Breeding Forum where I have posted in the past.

-----
Last edited by Caulfeilds Kennels on 2/7/2020 3:52:13 PM
 Windsong Hills
Basic User

Basic User
2/7/2020 4:09:36 PM reply with quote send message to Windsong Hills Object to Post

this post has been edited 1 time(s)

Thank you so much for reaching out!

I can only imagine the work that goes into it, for sure. At the moment, I would like to revive a breed that appears to only have four or five dogs total (all source dogs on a basic kennel that hasn’t visited in days). So, they would technically be show quality from the start (though not competitive in any other way, shape, or form).

I guess I just want to bring back an extinct breed.