Search

.com Forum · Alpha Dog Forum

Replies in this thread : 11

Author Topic : Kennel Name Dilemma
 BarStar
Premium Member

System.__ComObject
7/13/2022 7:29:52 PM reply with quote send message to BarStar Object to Post   

So I've been using BarStar as a kennel name on SD since 2006, but I recently rediscovered a hiccup in using that I forgot about.

When I created the kennel name, I googled as much as I could and didn't come up with any major kennels using the prefix BarStar. Most googling results are refer to scientific papers or an urban dictionary entry.

I use the prefix on anything I breed and show in this kennel regardless of the breed. Well, I found out that their is an established Dachshund kennel that uses BarStar's as her prefix. According to a doxie club page's breeder listings, the kennel is closing down. It's a combination of her first and last name.

Years ago I finished some homebred dachshunds in the game with this prefix, but haven't dabbled in Dachshunds until the last few months.

So what would you do in my situation?

Keep using the prefix you've been associated with forever and put a disclaimer on your kennel page.

Ditch the breed all together.

Begrudgingly embrace the change and use a different name for that breed alone.

Will
 DetroitKennel
Premium Member

Premium Member
7/13/2022 9:38:33 PM reply with quote send message to DetroitKennel Object to Post

If it makes you feel better add a disclaimer to the page (something like “This kennel is purely virtual and and not affiliated with any real kennel). You are in no way trying to recreate or emulate a real life “famous” kennel. I’m fact you MAY have started using the name before the real life kennel even started.