Search

.com Forum · Lhasa Apso

Replies in this thread : 4

Author Topic : Breeding Technique
 Norbu
Basic User

System.__ComObject
9/9/2009 6:45:03 PM reply with quote send message to Norbu Object to Post   

I was recently asked to give breeding advice. I figured I would post it here. You can agree or disagree, or not care. I have been doing this since 2003 so it works. wink ;)

Never breed more than 10% COI except to "lock in" a trait. Keep in mind that while you are inbreeding for that great "10" you are also inbreeding on every fault in the pedigree. Only keep the pup from that inbred litter which has the trait you bred to reproduce. FH the rest. If you didn't get what you were trying for, FH the entire litter. Try again. I once did the same brother-sister breeding 4 times before I got exactly what I wanted.

Never keep a pup that is not an improvement upon its parents. SOP is a great tool but I don't use it exclusively. I use my eyes too! A Sire(97.9 sop) with a 9.8 head, and a Dam(97.9 sop) with a 9.8 head produces a pup with 97.7 sop but a 9.9 head can be considered an improvement if you were trying to improve Head.

Don't breed 10.2 to 9.8 and expect to get numbers in the middle. It doesn't work that way wink ;)

As I said above- FH them all if you don't get what you want. Don't settle for less than an improvement just for the sake of getting the next generation.

My goal is to keep my brood stock no closer than 10% COI.
My highest and fastest SOP increases have come from 0% to 4% COI breedings.

Stud fees are nice, but if you see your male get used more than 10 times in 2 weeks, take him off the stud board for the next 2 weeks. If everyone breeds to your male, you'll make a lot of money... But in a month when you go looking for a stud to use all the best ones will be sired by your male! Its Murphey's Law. happy :)