Search

.com Forum · General

Replies in this thread : 19

Author Topic : Lack of participation and involvement on ShowDog :(
 Dalkeith
Basic User

System.__ComObject
6/6/2015 8:20:38 PM reply with quote send message to Dalkeith Object to Post   

Is it just me or does ShowDog.com feel like a dying game?

I've been playing SD for 9 years and I just feel like it really is just a shadow of it's former self these days sad :(

I have a Family Account - and in all my breeds there's hardly any entries, and hardly any breeders.

I check the 'Latest Topics' page on the forums and we're lucky if there is 1 or 2 new topics a day! Back when SD was popular a few years ago there was usually at least 25 new topics every single day!

The Banner Making Forum is a ghost town - there used to be approx 10 players who made banners on a regular basis and there were orders coming in left, right and center for new banners. It really was a good way to earn money back then - but these days theres only 2 or3 regular Banner Artists and most of them are doing it for free just to get some orders in.

I feel like the game is just so stagnant these days. Even the input from Jeff seems to have become few and far between. I remember back when SD was popular, Jeff and Laura would reply to messages within 1-2 days and they would contribute to posts in the forum on a very regular basis - but again - I just don't see much action from the founder of the game any more.

I feel like I'm losing interest - which is such a shame because this really is a game all of its own - there really isnt anything like it out there. I enjoy the genetics of breeding better each generation and showing to win titles ... but at the end of the day if the enjoyment of the game is dwindling, then why bother?

I have seen a few of the old long time players coming back to SD after a hiatus - and all of them have been making the same comments:

"Where is everyone?"

"Why are the forums so quiet?"

"What's happened to the game?"