Search

.com Forum · Real Show Dogs

Replies in this thread : 3

Author Topic : Supplements?
 Nouveau
Basic User

System.__ComObject
7/29/2015 10:09:24 AM reply with quote send message to Nouveau Object to Post   

I currently handle many breeds, as well as my own 15 month old German Shepherd in AKC conformation dog shows. This is the second show dog I have personally owned, and I have never used supplements before. I do add eggs, meat, and beneficial oils to meals. I have also used multivitamin tablets, calcium tablets, fish oil capsules, and brewer's yeast capsules in the past. So, which supplements do you use, and are they worth it? How much of a difference do they make? Pros and cons? Any before and after supplement photos are appreciated as well. Based on what I've seen and heard, I plan on steering clear of Showstopper, and anything similar.
 Treestand Kennel
Basic User

Basic User
7/29/2015 10:36:58 AM reply with quote send message to Treestand Kennel Object to Post

My guys are FAR from show dogs, but they get raw meat, bone, organs, fresh whole eggs when we get them, fish oil, and I have had to recently add glucosamine, chondroitin, and MSM because my 8 and a half year old's hip dysplacia was really beginning to hurt him.

I've noticed just with the eggs and PMR (raw diet) there has been a major change in their appearances: their coats have gotten even softer and shinier. My hound had straw like hair before, but now it's ridiculously soft and they don't seem to hold stink like they used to. Their teeth have never looked better in the 5 and 6 years we have had them. happy :)
 kiroja
Premium Member

Premium Member
7/29/2015 5:24:08 PM reply with quote send message to kiroja Object to Post