Search

.com Forum · General

Replies in this thread : 20

Author Topic : Is anyone willing/able to help revive this breed?
 Dalkeith
Basic User

System.__ComObject
4/16/2016 2:36:38 AM reply with quote send message to Dalkeith Object to Post   

Portuguese Pointers are becoming extinct!

There are only 12 'active' dogs listed - and only a handful of those are 'current' SOP - the others are source dogs.

There are a TONNE of 'hidden' studs that are sitting in old/abandoned kennels - which I have listed here:

www.showdog.com/forum/read.aspx?id=545076

Is anyone happy to help bring the breed back?

I think we will most likely need to use source females - and breed them to the hidden studs. (As I think there is only 1 current SOP female in the game at the moment)
 Amadror
Basic User

Basic User
4/16/2016 3:29:18 AM reply with quote send message to Amadror Object to Post

Sounds exactly like the kind of project I've been looking for. However, I'm really new to the game (owning one basic Whippet kennel and one already premium for Azawakhs), so here are some stupid/newbie questions in advance:
How do I use (or even get?) dogs from abandoned kennels?
How do we make sure that we have some decent show action?
More to follow. Quite excited...
 Edge of Tomorrow
Basic User

Basic User
4/16/2016 3:52:35 AM reply with quote send message to Edge of Tomorrow Object to Post

Awesome! Glad to have you on board! We’re going to need all the help we can get!

I’ve messaged ‘LoveLight’ – who is the only kennel who is currently showing Portuguese Pointers (PPs). Hopefully they will be happy for us to help bring the breed back happy :)

To answer some of your Qs: happy :)
You can’t buy dogs from abandoned kennels unless they are listed for auto-sale – which of the kennels that I’ve looked at today I couldn’t see any kennels that had any for sale.